ESUP Annual General Meeting | Kalim Farooqui Elected ESUP President

KARACHI:  The Annual General Meeting of the English Speaking Union of Pakistan unanimously approved the nomination of prominent businessman Kalim Farooqui as President for the term 2022-23. He is also President of the Pakistan Japan Business Forum and is on the board of various bilateral forums as well as the Horticulture Society of Pakistan. Moreover, in recognition of his exemplary services to ESUP, Aziz Memon, the outgoing President, was installed as the first Patron in Chief, Pakistan. He is also the first elected Vice President of ESU International which is a global recognition of his services and initiatives.

The following were also unanimously elected on the National Committee of the Executive Council of ESUP: Senior Vice President Pervez Madraswala, Vice President Irfan Qureshi, Secretary-General Majyd Aziz, Honorary Treasurer Najeeb Moochhala, and Joint Secretary Afshan Lalani, while members are Moin Fudda, Shahzad Sabir, Bakhtiar Khan, Ghulam Ali Muhammad, Farooq Afzal, Sunayna Ismail, Athar Iqbal, Dr. Farhan Essa, Saleem Zamindar, Nadeem Kazmi and Abbas Lavingia.

Moin Fudda, Chairman of the Rules Committee, proposed innovative amendments to the ESUP Rules that were unanimously approved by the AGM. It is for the first time that new categories of Youth and journalists were introduced. Aziz Memon announced that due to his extensive lobbying and in recognition of the fact that ESUP is the most active Chapter among all ESU Chapters, his proposal is that the next International Conference of Members would be held in Karachi on 28/29/30 October 2022 was approved at the ESU International meeting in London. Kalim Farooqui in his acceptance speech requested members to fully support ESUP and pledged to enhance the exposure and influence of ESUP during his tenure. He paid glowing tributes to Aziz Memon who during his tenure introduced far-reaching changes and ideas. Past Presidents Byram Avari and Abdul Kader Jaffer and a large number of members attended the AGM.



Related Articles