CAA Issues | New Travel Advisory Amid Covid-19 Resurge

Share the News

LAHORE: Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) on Friday, October 29 reduced the number of countries from where passengers were allowed to enter Pakistan without a coronavirus test.

The latest travel advisory divides international travellers into two categories where category A will not need a negative COVID-19 test while those in category B will be required to undergo coronavirus screening 96 hours prior to boarding a flight to Pakistan.

Keeping in view a COVID-19 surge across the globe, the number of countries in category A has been reduced from 30 to 22. These include Singapore, China, Cuba, Estonia, Japan, Ghana, Norway, Turkey, Vietnam, South Korea, New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka and others.

The new advisory requires airlines to ensure the coronavirus SOPs are followed and has made it mandatory for passengers to fill out the health declaration form.

The notification has been issued by CAA’s director air transport and will be valid from November 6 till December 31.

Global daily COVID-19 cases have risen by nearly 25% in less than two weeks as the world witnessed 400,000 daily reported cases for the first-time last Friday.

Most western countries and parts of Latin America have reported their highest single-day surges in the past few weeks. Many governments, with the notable exception of the United States, have started taking stronger measures to bring the spread of the virus under control.



Related Articles