14th Cholistan Desert Rally | Magsi Retains The Crown

BAHAWALPUR: The most thrilling and adventurous 4 day 14th Cholistan Desert Rally concluded on 17th February in Bahawalpur. The nine-time champion of Pakistan’s  biggest motor sports event, Mir Nadir Magsi successfully defended his title and won the race.

Magsi completed the 467km long desert track in 4 hours 30 minutes and 35 seconds. Zain Mehmood got 2nd position in this Prepared Category A Race with the timing of 4 hours, 39 minutes and 26 seconds. Sahibzada Sultan remained 3rd with timing of 4 hours, 42 minutes and 55 seconds.

Manssor Halim won the title of Stock Category A Race as he completed the track of 220km in 2 hours, 44 minutes and 29 seconds. Dr. Nadeem Naeem got 2nd position with the timing of 2 hours, 59 minutes and 47 seconds and Shah Zain Abbasi remained 3rd as he completed the track in 3 hours and 7 minutes.

On the completion of the this 4-day motor sports mega event, which has turned into the biggest festival of this desert, a grand prize distribution ceremony was organised by Tourism Development Corporation of Punjab near historic Fort Derawar in centre of the world’s 7th largest desert the Cholistan Desert. This is famous as Rohi in local Saraiki Language.

At the prize distribution ceremony Commissioner Bahawalpur Division Mr. Nayyar Iqbal, who was the chief guest, gave away trophies and cash prizes to the position holders of different categories. While addressing the gathering winner of Cholistan Desert Jeep rally Mir Nadir Magsi thanked the organisers for holding such a big motor sports event which is becoming more and more popular every year. Commissioner Bahawalpur Division also congratulated the all participants and the position-holders and revealed that it had been his great obsession since last many years to watch this prestigious motor sports event and by grace of Allah his dream has come true.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.